Exhibition opening hours: Tuesday 3 June – Thursday 5 June 10.00 – 17.00 | Friday 6 June 10.00 – 15.00   |   Read our FAQ

Next Generation Ship Award

The award will be handed out in front of a prominent industry audience at the Nor-Shipping Opening Ceremony. All nominees will be presented in Nor-Shipping and ShipInsight channels, and the four shortlisted nominees will be publicly honored for their innovative ship design at Nor-Shipping.

How to nominate

Nominations can be made by anyone within the international maritime community. You can nominate more than one candidate, using separate forms.

Deadline for nomination TBA


The Next Generation Ship Award is open to vessels delivered or which have undergone retrofit or major conversion of new technologies since the 2023 Nor-Shipping Exhibition or be scheduled for delivery within three years of the 2025 event.

The new Next Generation Ship Award is awarded to the ship project demonstrating the greatest advances and innovation in design. The design is assessed with respect to energy efficiency, innovation, suitability and flexibility, technology utilisation, safety and security and environmental sustainability.

Since innovative efficient designs often emerge through active collaboration between companies, collaborators may jointly apply.

The Jury will consider all aspects of each ship entered taking into account cost effectiveness / life cycle cost perspective of new and innovative features. With regard to sustainability, the impact on the environment will be considered as will vessel versatility ensuring employment under a wide range of market conditions. Where pioneering new technologies are incorporated into the design or construction of a ship, these will be assessed for their contribution to the overall efficiency of the vessel.

In recognition of the fact that ships are required to be commercially viable, all factors will be considered and no single factor will determine the winner. All ship types will be given equal consideration, regardless of size or segment.

Jury details

The jury consist of dedicated professionals representing a diversity of segments and geographical presence, including representatives from the Award Partner and Award Media Partner.

The jury’s chairman is Malcolm Latarche, an industry expert and freelance maritime journalist, who has led this jury since 2013.

The 2023 Next Generation Ship Award jury

(Jury for 2025 TBA)

Award President Remi Eriksen, Group President and CEO, DNV

  • Jan Kvålsvold, Director, Global Business Development, DNV
  • Andreas Østern, Head of Energy Transition Solutions, DNB Ocean Industries
  • Kuba Szysmanski, Secretary General, Intermanager
  • Paul Gunton, Technical Editor, ShipInsight
  • Sidsel Norvik, Director, Nor-Shipping
  • Siv Remøy-Vangen, Managing Director, Maritime Bergen
  • Erik Giercksky, Head, Sustainable Ocean Business, UN Global Compact
  • Anders Valland, Research Manager, SINTEF Ocean
  • Kent Erik Kristiansen, Managing Director, Blue-C

Jury Chairman Malcolm Latarche

Next Generation Ship Award Partner

Share this post with your friends